Life after Death

Yesterday, funeral and.next Saturday, a baby shower. No joke, this is my life. This picture by James Aldwin  (You Tube, 2015) really accentuates this dichotomy.

My friend died relatively young, and unexpectedly. My husband and I drove 12 hours home to go to the funeral. I wrote a song to help me through my grief. It only helped a little.

And next Saturday is the baby shower for a young newlywed at my church. They are people I am willing to conquer my social anxiety to become friends with.

The juxtaposition of these two events is very strange, and yet proof that life does go on. All my friend had only ever wanted to be a mother, and I finally met her children at the funeral. More proof that life does go on.

Edit: I’m home now from the baby shower. I’ve started a new friendship. Yes, there is life after death.

Leave a Reply

